Nancy Minus 25: Minus Seven Pounds and Counting…

“This is the lowest you have weighed since the first time you came to my office, Nancy; keep up the good work.” Now, those were words that were sweet music to my ears. What a huge difference from the last time I visited with my primary care doctor and when we started the WellMASS Weight Loss Challenge. As I am sitting here writing my last blog and reminiscing on my experience with the Challenge, I can definitely say that it has been quite an adventure! Well, more like a roller coaster adventure, as I have had my ups and my downs, and lots of learning curves in between.

I learned that eating more fruits and veggies is tedious, but worth every effort. Preparing my meals and snacks helps me avoid eating junk food and feel great about the choices I make to eat healthier. Actually, the more I think about it, it also helped me with my children, nieces, and nephews, as I found myself eating healthier more and visiting McDonald’s less with them.

I learned that exercising (such as walking, core strengthening, and ab workouts) is important, but my mental and emotional wellbeing is not only just as important, but crucial. Yoga, meditation, and simply taking time to read or hear motivational “stuff” have helped me get closer to my goal every single day.

I learned that surrounding ourselves with those who encourage us, inspire us, and lift us higher (like my friend Maureen Saba) can only make us feel better and less likely to give up. I truly believe everyone should have a friend like Maureen; for that I am very grateful.

I also learned and felt a great deal of gratitude for those who joined me in the Challenge, because the fact that they showed up every week even though they were busy taught us that we all achieve something and that together, we can fight and win this battle called weight loss.

I may not have lost the 25 pounds that I had wanted to lose during this challenge; however, this time I feel optimistic and know that I can reach my goals because giving up is no longer an option. I learned that blogging is not only fun, but a great way for me to hold myself accountable, and I hope that my blog posts were helpful to others (thanks Ashley for picking me to do this!). Finally, I would like to leave you with this quote; Namaste!

“Develop an attitude of gratitude, and give thanks for everything that happens to you, knowing that every step forward is a step toward achieving something bigger and better than your current situation.” – Brian Tracy

Leave a Reply

