Nancy Minus 25: Mother’s Help = A Five-Pound Weight Loss

By Guest Blogger Nancy Ayapan, DCF

Having a strong support system is another key element in being successful in my road to losing weight. The words, “I am not alone,” came to mind as I pondered who my strong supporters are. As you may recall from one of my previous blogs, I talked about my mother and how she is not only one of my biggest supporters, a person who will honestly tell me when I am gaining weight, but also the person who has always been there to help me succeed. Well, this week I am dedicating my success in losing 5 pounds to my mother. It was because of her help that I was able to be successful this week!

I have to be honest and tell you that I have struggled with my weight my entire life. Out of all the people that I consider my biggest fans and my helpers, my mother has been there through all my struggles:  When I could not find a dress like my sister’s (because I was chubbier), when she would catch me eating my sibling’s leftovers, when my pediatrician would tell her that I was “fat” and needed to lose weight, when others (especially family members) would comment on how much chubbier I was than my sister – I could go on and on. The point I am trying to make is that my mother knows the struggles I have gone through, and she is also the solution to help me succeed this time.

Because of my mother’s help, I was able to incorporate more fruit and vegetables into my daily routine this week. I watched her prepare chicken breast (by taking the skin off in order for it to be healthier) for the week, and I noticed that she made sure to prepare different vegetables with every meal. Not only did she help me prepare meals, but she would also pack lunch and snacks for me.  Isn’t she just great?  You see, part of being successful in losing weight is preparation, and taking the time to eat healthy things over eating out or eating unhealthy snacks.

I have to tell you that the way I ate this week, with my mother’s help, completely opened my eyes in that I realized that I need to really focus on spending the time to prepare my meals. It was great to see what she would do to the point that I started to mimic what she was doing and it worked!  You may ask, “Why would I do all this?” The answer is, because this time, I deserve and I am willing to succeed in this battle called weight loss.

Leave a Reply

