Jacki’s Journey – A Relaxing Week 2

So here we are on the third week of the Stress Less Challenge.  Is everyone finding the challenge easy to follow?  I have to admit, some days are harder than others (especially when you sit in traffic!).  I find I talk to myself more; that is, I say, “Don’t let this stress you out.  Breathe.”  Taking that breath makes all the difference some mornings when I’m navigating city traffic.

Last week I mentioned I was going to try different techniques for stress reduction.  My newest find – Lavender!  Oh, the wonderful, calming scent of lavender!  Lavender has a fresh, sweet, floral, herbaceous aroma that is soothing and refreshing.  It is a great aid for relaxing and winding down before bedtime.  Just a small bit of lavender oil yields relaxation in abundance.  Try putting just a few drops on your pillow at night and you will be lulled into a relaxing sleep.  I have tried this a few nights myself.  I am happy to report it really does work.  You might want to try putting a lavender-scented plug-in in your work space to keep you calm throughout the day.

This week, I also learned some more about what stress management techniques do and do not work for me.  Listening to a relaxation CD does not work for me.  I found it didn’t keep my attention long enough.  I would actually tune out the CD and not pay attention.  I think my multitasking efforts have foiled me on this one.  I do find when I am using a yoga DVD, the tone of the voice of the instructor is very calming.  Maybe I am just not ready for the CD technique yet. 

Would you believe raking leaves actually helped me relax?!  I love being outside anytime of the year.  I think the combination of the fresh air, the beautiful colors of the leaves, and the scent of fall in the air made a wonderful combination for relaxation.  Plus, this accounted for many hours of physical activity to help release loads of endorphins!

Where will the next week take me in this challenge?  I think with the holidays coming up it might be time to schedule some “me time” with myself.  I’m already running around preparing for Thanksgiving.  I think I need to schedule some time to do something fun and relaxing for me.  I also suggest you do the same for yourselves before we are full swing in holiday preparations!  Here’s to a successful third week of less stress for all of us! 

 

 

One response

  1. HI Jacki! It was nice reading your blogg today and could not agree with you more about the essential oils / aromas. I too along with 20 other co-workers began the challenge and I am glad I did it. I do find myself looking forward to finding ways to be less stressed. Cheers to us!!

Leave a Reply

